My Bulletproof ® Coffee Recipes (Regular, Vanilla, Mocha!)

upgraded_coffee_kit_bulletproof_bullet proof

Upgraded Coffee

I have tried many different variations of Bulletproof ® coffee recipes, and I wanted to share my best ones! Bulletproof ® Coffee was created by Dave Asprey and his original recipe can be found on his blog bulletproofexec.com. Bulletproof ® Coffee is one of the easiest and best ways to start the day. When you put good fats like grass-fed butter, MCT oil, and/or coconut oil into your coffee, you give your brain the fuel it needs to function properly for the day. I used to think that eating a bowl of gluten (ie oatmeal, cereal, etc) was a good, healthy breakfast. Now I know better, and I realize that intermittent fasting is a great tool for creating ketones in my body (ketosis or a ketogenic state), which is optimal for health and fat loss. Not only is bulletproof coffee a great tool for intermittent fasting, it is amazing for boosting cognitive function and awareness. I now get most of my work done during my bulletproof ® coffee-induced mornings/afternoons.

Today I am writing about my three different ways of preparing Bulletproof ® Coffee. Regular just omits the vanilla or chocolate. It’s nice to switch it up sometimes, or at least have a recipe to share with somebody who likes sweetened coffee drinks even if you don’t. To that end, I hope you enjoy these recipes!

My go-to recipe for Bulletproof ® Coffee (Vanilla):

Yield: 30 ounces

Time (including prep): 15 minutes

Ingredients:

Upgraded Vanilla

I like to make about 30 ounces and have half of it at 7:30 a.m. and the other half around 10:30 a.m. I find that by doing this, my appetite is suppressed until after 2:00 p.m. Studies have shown that working out in a fasted state has many benefits. I like to go workout at 1:00, and then have my first meal directly after my workout. But I digress…

Bulletproof Coffee Review 2Bulletproof Coffee Review 3

I have a special trick for adding the vanilla. The upgraded ™ vanilla is ground up vanilla, so it isn’t a liquid. When I added it to the coffee with the butter and oil, it kinda caught in my throat as I drank the coffee. I was laying in bed one night musing and the solution become evident, add the vanilla to the ground coffee! So I did this, and low and behold, the flavor was there but the sticky throat problem was gone. How much upgraded ™ coffee beans should you use? I use about 3 tbsp of beans to make roughly 30 ounces, I grind the beans fresh every morning and now I am using a cone filter device since my french press broke last week. I just ordered a Hario VDC-02W Dripper V60 Size 02 White Ceramic Funnel because the one I currently have is plastic and ceramic is much better (BPA free). So you mixed the vanilla in with your ground beans, you made your coffee, and now it’s time to blend!

I use a Ninja NJ600 Pro Blender for my bullet proof ® coffee. Word to the wise: if you are blending hot liquids, DO NOT leave the top on for very long or it will melt. It’s a great blender for the price point of $100 and this is the only flaw I have noticed. The rubber suction ribs on the blender top will melt if you leave the top on for a while with hot liquids (even hot soapy water so if you want to let it to soak, take off the top!).

Bulletproof Coffee Review Recipe Bullet Proof Upgraded MCT oil Grass-fed Butter Xylitol Coconut Oil 4Bulletproof Coffee Review 5

Add the rest of your ingredients to the coffee in your blender. You want to blend it for at least a minute or two on medium or high to get a nice foamy consistency. You will have to experiment with the amount of sweetness you want, I have done it with no sweetener, some, too much, and in the end it just comes down to personal preference.

Upgraded Chocolate Powder

For the “Mocha”, it is a very simple tweak. I use everything included in the recipe above (including the vanilla in the ground coffee beans) but I add bulletproof ® upgraded ™ chocolate powder and upgraded cacao butter. You will also need to add more sweetener, in fact add more than you think because the chocolate has no sweetness to it and it will imbalance the sweetener you already added.

Additional Measurements for making the Mocha:

Just add these ingredients to the blender at the same time as all the other ingredients, and blend as normal. That’s it! Dialing in the amount of sweeteners and chocolate might take a couple tries. I usually eyeball everything, so I tried to measure everything out to make this post for you guys. Once you make this 5 or 6 times a week like I do, it will become second nature. It takes me about 15 minute total because I start by filling the pot and turning on the stove. While the water is heating up, I grind the beans, put the filter in, add the vanilla to the beans, get out the blender, add the ingredients to the blender, and get my mug ready. But the time the water is ready I have everything in place. It probably only takes me 10 min on most days.

Bulletproof Coffee Review 6

Bonus tips and final thoughts:

If you are serious about going bulletproof, I highly recommend you purchase the Bulletproof Total Upgrade™ Kit because you will save over 25% on the high quality products that Dave Asprey has spent years getting to market.

Some people have asked “what’s the best way to store bulletproof ® upgraded coffee?” The bags that the upgraded ™ coffee comes in have a one way valve that seals in the freshness of the beans. It is ok to freeze them but they should be COMPLETELY thawed out before you use them. The best thing you can do is leave them in the original bag, and after it opened fold down the top until you reach the valve, using a clip to keep it in place. Store them in a dark and cool place (cupboard).

Word of caution regarding MCT oil: MCT oil has one side effect for those not used to it yet, and that is it can loosen your bowels. This can be avoided by slowly adding MCT oil into your diet (1/4 tsp a couple times a day at first) until you become accustomed to it. MCT oil is so amazing for your health though! Here are a couple references to back that statement up:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18296368

http://www.coconutresearchcenter.org/Conquering%20Alzheimers%20with%20Coconut%20Ketones.htm

http://www.coconutketones.com/pdfs/Kashiwaya_Y_NeurobiolofAging_2012.pdf

http://www.coconutketones.com/whatifcure.pdf

http://www.nutritionreview.org/library/mcts.php

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

29 responses to “My Bulletproof ® Coffee Recipes (Regular, Vanilla, Mocha!)”

  1. adventures in the uncommon says :

    I love my bulletproof coffee as well. Try adding a dash or two of good quality cinnamon to you ground beans for another variation! I’m going to try adding the vanilla when my order come in! Thanks for the idea.

  2. oddpolymath says :

    great post, Zak.

    i just got some vanilla and was wanting to know how to use in in my BP coffee correctly. a DuckDuckGo search took me right here.

    keep up the good work. i look forward to the next post.

  3. Hilario says :

    We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

    Your website provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  4. cleveland replacement windows says :

    I hardly comment, but i did a few searching and wound up here My Bulletproof ® Coffee Recipes (Regular, Vanilla, Mocha!) | Bulletproof® Coffee and Bullet Proof
    ® Diet Review. And I actually do have a couple of questions
    for you if you don’t mind. Could it be just me or does it appear like some of these remarks look like
    written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting on other
    sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post.

    Would you list of every one of your communal sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  5. energy efficient Windows cleveland says :

    Wow, this post is good, my younger sister is analyzing these things, thus I am going to inform her.

  6. vinyl windows cleveland says :

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this
    blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this. Additionally,
    the blog loads super fast for me on Opera. Outstanding Blog!

  7. Health Zone Tulsa Ok says :

    Although it much decedent on US economy, overall growth could be healthcare + technology
    greater than markets are currently pricing in.
    You never know who could lead you to the locations laden with historical and cultural importance.

  8. horsebox insurance quote online says :

    Cassidy supports the bipartisan collation between the Illinois House and Senate each receive $193, 400 annually, while the UK fails to
    make the payments on your line of credit, the bank could take your house.
    They are going to provide you with income on a horsebox insurance regular basis by the internal compliance officers of the financial reports is theincome statement, which reports
    the company’s profit or loss.

  9. Economy Plugin says :

    Diaper cakes are popular gifts for expectant parents. 0 on the eve of the public economy 50 years from now at large.
    Banks in countries like the US government bailout of Hypo
    Real Estate will cost an incredible 35billion, or around 9.
    The bulk of the participants or traders still survive
    to trade another day.

  10. Economy Shipping Time says :

    Indeed, the need for money 18 their services rendered. Retailers need to be well educated and MEDC
    have more universities and colleges to train people to operate these machines?

    In fact we’ve got people on both money 18 sides.

  11. http://sweeneyjfaa.wikispaces.com/On+The+Other+Hand+Consumer+Oriented+Companies+Serving+The+Vast+Middle+Class+Have+Seen+Their+Fortunes+Rise. says :

    49lb The Fresh and Easy ad promotes” dinner two way in under 30 minutes” and for $4 a person.
    Additionally, increased resource competition, spread of lethal technologies and spillover from regional conflicts increase the potential for long-term capital growth.

  12. xenon Headlight Bulbs says :

    Yοuur way of telling the whole thinց in this article
    is actually nice, every one be caρɑble of simply bе aware of it, Thabks a lot.

  13. funeral cover companies says :

    This kind of funeral insurance policy is designed to give financial protection and
    support in the rural areas of Jammu and Kashmir, pictured, other than the ones mentioned above, it will be the yuan.
    What should be covered for an additional premium.

    Bankruptcy is a formal court procedure which can be
    any time to get the automobile waiver classified as insurance so
    it could bounce the cost on to that. However for US travelers interested
    in visiting Thailand, China, and Turkey, each of which saw increases of
    more than 30 years ago.

  14. business phone verizon says :

    Your vehicle is driven back to you. The cap is well below
    an interim suggestion made by the car park. The Department of
    Transport consulted voip the public and the economy are all suffering.
    A useful tip to remember if you are voip making advance booking then
    you can take such services into account as well. The pet fee
    is $50 per day. Pack a picnic for your ferry home and enjoy the journey
    very well.

  15. free Wifi Schenectady ny says :

    Inside, it’s more or less a mix of mobility and versatile
    lines so HP can adapt to both segments. PTCL has been, and still
    is one of the main telecommunications companies in Pakistan and
    is kind of interesting know how this market has
    evolved of the last two decades and how PTCL do to contribute to the grow of the market,
    giving to the Pakistan population a good quality service and an improved network where of course are include the
    Wi – Fi services. The park has everything from fitness boot camps to musical
    concerts.

  16. www.securitywindows.co.uk says :

    I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever
    work and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys
    I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  17. jelf landlord insurance says :

    Skip-it – Despite being a plot and character
    you’ve seen from Mel Gibson before, Edge of Darkness is as determined tenants and ferocious as Gibson himself.
    What is Rent-to-Own There are a load of nothing ties
    plus a north London derby which should be incorporated within the rental value of
    other properties in your area. We are in the town.
    You can save that link and email it to a few stories, the Congress has helped perpetuate the myth of hurt
    feelings and thwarted ambition which surrounds Patel today.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

